The End of the Month Wrap-Up: August 2015!

I’ve read fifteen books.

I’ve bought…none, actually.  I’ve hardly read the ones I bought last month, because…

…I’ve been to the library four times, though it may end up being five because I might go this afternoon.  They’re holding Blue Lily, Lily Blue for me.  Because this month I discovered Maggie Stiefvater and I. Am. Smitten.

August 2015 word count

I spent a good chunk of time playing with an idea for a new novel (all that Haunted Library stuff) only to shelve it (I saved my notes!) and dive into a sequel for my still-in-beta first novel.  Yeah, that’s 16K since the 15th.  And that doesn’t show today’s progress, which puts me past 17K.  I’m such a pantser–I didn’t do any prep beyond having an idea based on two major (read: obvious) themes I left untouched in the first book.  But I know these characters.  Writing them is getting to be as easy as breathing.

We’ll see how well my progress keeps up when I go back to focusing on said first book, though.  Which I am itching to do.  I’ve spent hours chatting with my beta readers and gotten some startling insights, some constructive criticism, and more than a few marketing ideas…which is more than I ever thought to ask them for.  (Hearts and flowers and kisses to you guys, because you rock.)

And if I didn’t have enough to do in September, I’m taking on a journaling challenge and possibly also a book photo challenge to provide more unique content to my Tumblr.  (I’m still so much more comfortable there than Twitter.  Twitter may move too fast for me…)  Anyway, if that goes well, I’m thinking compiling those pics weekly here will make nice Friday content to replace the defunct Writing Prompt Roundups.  Because I’m still figuring out what my (tiny pool of) readers want to see!  (My most-viewed posts are the Editing Notes series, and the least, my writing-prompt serial.  It was a fun experiment, but one I don’t think I’ll be replicating any time soon.)

So that’s it for August, which I feel good about.  Crossing my fingers that September will be as productive, or even more so!

Leave a Reply

