Let Me Tell You a Story #17: The Obligations of Social Media

So, you might remember, I’m on Twitter.  Not that there’s much evidence of that these days.  I started my account, used it consistently for maybe three weeks, then decided Twitter wasn’t really for me and stopped checking it.

I know everyone says that’s where all the authors hang out in the social mediasphere, but I was already familiar with Tumblr before I started my writing journey–I’m much more comfortable there, and I’m sure it shows in the quality of my content, between the two.

I didn’t make any meaningful connections with anyone in my brief Twitter shelf life, I thought.  No one will miss me.

But here’s the thing:  I forgot I entered a contest.  Because, you know, one enters contests without any actual expectation of winning them, right?

Random House hosted a Twitter giveaway for the release of Julia Pierpont’s Among the Ten Thousand Things.  I read the posted excerpt, thought it sounded interesting, and tweeted a quote from it to enter the contest.

And promptly forgot about it.  Like I said, not expecting to win.

That was on August 12.  My last tweet was on Aug 28, and until this week, I didn’t check my Twitter at all.  No one would miss me, right?

So I missed myself winning the giveaway for over a month, until someone from Random House tracked me down on Goodreads this week to leave me a message.  (Which was incredibly surprising and awesome and I thanked her most fervently.)

But this is where I publicly acknowledge the egg on my face.  It’s warm and wet and embarrassing.  I prostrate myself before the Altar of Books in shame for neglecting an avenue of contact.

Okay?  Good.  Now let’s get to the fun part–the loot.

IMG_2132

First, I saw the tote bag.  A big ole sturdy canvas tote bag, which will become my new I’m-going-to-the-library bag.  (I should have included something for scale–it’s really big.)  Inside, there were books.  Many books.

IMG_2120

The giveaway was a selection of Pierpont’s favorite works–so I shouldn’t necessarily have been surprised by the handwritten notes on each cover, but I was.  I held in some serious levels of squee while reading each one, and now that they’ve been documented for posterity, I’m going to stick them on the inside front covers and keep them.  (This is Virginia Woolf’s To the Lighthouse.)

IMG_2121

The excitement I feel getting these little notes on each book has only strengthened my resolve to do a giveaway myself of signed copies of What We Need to Survive–I just have to work out the logistics.  And, you know, set a release date and all that.  Working on it, I promise.

IMG_2122

This one sounds amazing (Toni Bentley, Winter Season: A Dancer’s Journal) and is going to be the second one I read.  (I’ll get to the first in a bit!)

IMG_2123

IMG_2124

I like that there’s a mix of old and new, especially with debut novels.  I’m not necessarily expecting to like everything once I’ve read them all, but I’m really hoping I pick up at least a few authors to follow from this.

IMG_2125

This might be my favorite cover of the bunch.

IMG_2126

Poetry!  There’s poetry!  I haven’t read much poetry since college (I took two creative writing seminars, one in poetry and one in fiction.)  So, again, there’s a certain level of squee attached to this one.

IMG_2127

So, this is where the Universe is showing me what a wonderful entity it can be.  I haven’t read any of the books that came…but I have read The Talented Mr. Ripley.  Granted, that was over a decade ago, and I’m not sure where the copy I read is (I may have borrowed it from a friend) but I can always get it from the library to reread it before I dive into the sequel.

IMG_2128

In my senior year of high school, I played Nora in a production of Tune In To Murder (and the only thing Google turned up for it was PDF of the script?  Weird, I had no idea I was in such an obscure play.)  I’d say my high school shunned the more classic plays, but a few years before that the senior class production was The Outsiders, so, yes, but not completely.  We certainly never put on Our Town, and I’ve never read it.

IMG_2129

No, wait, this one’s my favorite cover.  I take it back.

IMG_2131

So I said I was reading one of the earlier books second, because (duh!) I’m reading Among the Ten Thousand Things first.  That’s what the giveaway was for, right?  It would be rude not to!

A big thank you to Julia Pierpont and Random House for hosting this, I’m about to swoon from book joy.  I better go lay down and read for a while…

3 thoughts on “Let Me Tell You a Story #17: The Obligations of Social Media

Leave a Reply

