NaNoWriMo Prep #2: Clear the Decks

Are there things I need to get done before NaNo?  Absolutely!  So October, in addition to prepping for the writing itself, is being devoted to:

  • Getting my living space in a clean condition that will be easy to maintain.  No big cleaning projects slated for November; I’ll get them all done now, instead.
  • Working some video games out of my queue.  I’m caught up with Life is Strange, though the final episode is being released next week AND I MUST PLAY IT IMMEDIATELY UPON ITS RELEASE OH MY GOD THE SUSPENSE IS DRIVING ME MAD.  Also, I’m a chapter behind on Tales from the Borderlands, which will also wrap up before the end of the month, if I remember my release dates properly.  And the final chapter of Game of Thrones (the game, the game, not the books!) should be coming out just after that–that one, I am caught up on.  (You can see I’ve kind of got a thing for narrative adventure games.  I did pick up the new Minecraft story game, but…that’s going to wait until after NaNo, I think.)
  • Food.  The bulk of my dinner leftovers from now until November are getting frozen for easy meals when I need the extra writing time.  I’m not going to abandon cooking altogether during November–I would never, I love to cook!–but it can get frustrating to be in a writing groove, glance at the clock, and realize I should have started dinner twenty minutes ago.  (And believe me, that’s happened.  Often.)

My bullet journal has been a great help so far keeping me on task–I’ve only been using this method for two weeks, but I’m staying on top of all the little things I sometimes forget to do, and since it’s going so well, I’m sneaking in extra tasks to help me get ready for NaNo, when it’s going to be write, write, write!

One thought on “NaNoWriMo Prep #2: Clear the Decks

Leave a Reply

