The Twelve Days of Christmas Blogging, Day 6

christmas4

Share a fond childhood Christmas memory.

It was hard to know what to get my brother for Christmas as a kid.  He’s older, and I’m a girl, and we didn’t see eye-to-eye on much.  I wanted to play with his Micro Machines but he never wanted to play with my Barbies.

Then, one year, my parents got him the Space Monorail Lego set.  (I just Googled it and found a bunch of listings on Ebay, and wow, did I have no idea they went for so much now!)

The day after Christmas, I helped him put it together for the first time.

For the next three Christmases, I knew exactly what to get him.  I got him the monorail extension sets.  And we got out the boxes and set up the new, bigger, twistier monorail every year.

By the fourth Christmas after, he was in high school, and as cool as Legos were, building them with your younger sister? Maybe not so cool.  So the monorail didn’t get built.

It did make one more appearance, though, his freshman year of college.  He came home for Christmas and said, “You know, I actually missed you.  You’re cooler now than I remember.”  And the day after Christmas, he asked if I wanted to go out to the garage with him and help him find the Legos.  He put together the monorail while I Frankensteined all our castle sets into one ridiculous sprawl for the monorail to wind through.

I love my brother, and Legos are the best.

Leave a Reply

