#readwomen Wrap-Up!

I only read books written by women in the month of December.  I didn’t get through as many as I would have liked–the holidays are always a busy time–but I had no problem sticking to the challenge, because I have so many books in my TBR pile right now and more than half are by women!

(I know I have a day left, but Outlander is loooong and I’m sure I won’t start something else new by the 1st.)

My reading list this month:

  1. Black Beauty
  2. Diamond Head
  3. Personal Geography
  4. Intimate Geography
  5. Two holiday shorts, Unexpected Gifts and On His Naughty List
  6. The Enchanted
  7. Heart’s Blood
  8. The Young Elites
  9. Outlander

What have I learned?  Well, I already read mostly women, judging by my shelves, because I read a lot of YA, sci-fi, fantasy, romance, and hybrids of those genres.  Which are mostly written by women, or in sci-fi’s case, have good representation of female authors but isn’t dominated by them like romance.

However, because so many of my to-read books have come from bag-book sales and in a few cases, that contest I won, I have been introduced to new authors in the last month that I probably wouldn’t have found otherwise.

I think my favorite book of the month was Heart’s Blood, but I already knew I was a Juliet Marillier fan, so no surprise there.  I was thrilled when I saw it in a stack at the book sale, a hardcover in good condition, no less!

My favorite of the unfamiliar authors was Diamond Head, which turned out to be an especially appropriate story for #readwomen, because it’s a family saga told entirely from the POVs of the women of the family.  The male characters are plenty interesting, but since the reader only sees them through the lens of the womens’ narratives, everything we know about them is skewed by who we learn it from.  The structure made for an engaging read, and though the constant flashbacks made it a bit of a challenge to get into, once I got there, I was hooked.

So I’d call my month of reading women a success, and it’s made me excited to tackle other reading challenges in the new year!

Leave a Reply

