Reply Like No One’s Watching (Writer Q&A)

writing-923882_1280

One of my favorite writer-blogger friends, Eve Messenger, hit me with this one. I’m a sucker for talking about myself, books, and writing, so of course I’m all over this. Thanks, Eve!

The Rules:
1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link to their blog and Twitter in your post.
2. Answer the questions that the blogger who nominated you has provided.
3. Nominate up to 10 other bloggers or Twitter followers
4. Create ten questions for your nominees and notify them of their nomination.

Eve Messenger’s Questions:

What are three things you do really well as a writer?

I’m character-focused when I write. My scene and story ideas almost always start with me hearing dialogue in my head (insert “she hears voices” jokes here), and I build my characters outward from what they say. So I’m strong with dialogue, personalities, and body language.

When you daydream about “making it” as a writer, what do you visualize?

Quitting (or cutting back on) my day job. I like what I do well enough most of the time, but it was never my dream job.

Do you have a regular writing routine? If so, when?

First thing in the morning, if I can, or as soon as possible during the day. I’m not a night owl, and I won’t sacrifice sleep to write. I will sacrifice just about anything else, so it works okay. As for what I do, I light a scented candle if I know I’ll be at the computer long enough to enjoy it, make some tea or get a glass of water, throw on my headphones and listen to Rainy Cafe, and get down to it.

Dogs or cats?

I like both, I have neither.

What’s directly to the left of where you’re sitting right now?

My husband’s chair. Our desks are right next to each other.

When do most of your plot ideas come to you? In bed, on walks, in the shower, while driving, when reading other books?

Walking and in the shower. Both prime plot-bunny time. Sometimes at work, if my mind’s drifting, but I try to keep that to a minimum–I jot down the idea and get back to business.

What’s your most recent writing breakthrough?

Trying out a new rewriting method that seems to be perfect for me.

Are you able to write in noisy environments?

I write almost exclusively at home, so aside from the occasional police siren or loud trucks on the street, there isn’t much noise. I listen to rain sounds to drown out incidental noise and help me focus, or occasionally, instrumental music. Never anything with vocals, or I’ll start singing along in my head, and then I can’t words. Words no worky.

Have you ever attended a book signing event for an author you admire? If so, what was it like?

Never have, would love to.

Are you better at coming up with titles or elevator pitches?

I’ve never tried to come up with an elevator pitch–the benefit of self-publishing, I don’t have to pitch–so I guess titles win by default. Writing the various promotional materials I’ve used, like my back-cover blurb, was difficult, so I’m sure a pitch would be terrifying.

That wraps up my answers, so it’s time to tag people I want to hear from:

Graham @ loquaciouslyliterate

Tina @ All of These Prompts

And any of my followers who’d like to, just tell me in the comments when you do so I see it!  A lot of the writing blogs I follow are on some sort of hiatus right now, and I don’t want to tag people who aren’t active–hence the short list.

And my questions:

  1. What’s the last book you read, and would you recommend it?
  2. What inspired your current (or most recent) writing project?
  3. Scented candles, yea or nay?
  4. What’s the strangest thing you’ve ever Googled as research for your writing?
  5. One project at a time, or do you juggle multiples?
  6. Give me your favorite line you’ve written recently.
  7. Tell me five things that are in your fridge right now.
  8. What was the most memorable place you’ve ever traveled to?
  9. What’s your favorite board game? And if it’s not Scrabble, what’s wrong with you?  (Kidding, kidding. I just love trouncing people at Scrabble. Don’t worry, I’m not challenging anyone.)
  10. If there were one more hour in the day, would you use it to sleep, or to write?
Leave a Reply

