From My Art Journal #3

IMG_2309

Recognize this? No? It used to be this:

IMG_2303

Am I terrible that half the reason I moved The Girl on the Train up my TBR was because I suspected I wouldn’t like it, and I wanted to make an altered book journal? Over the weekend, I covered that baby with fabric and started playing around with my art supplies.

(Also, man, I haven’t done one of these in forever. If forever is five months. I meant to keep going in my old art journal, but honestly, the pages were too big. It felt like it took forever to finish one. This new journal’s a friendlier size for me.)

IMG_2310

The inside cover is an ink doodle inside the ribbon I used to cover the raw edges of the fabric; the first page is crayon and ink with fabric insets.

IMG_2311

Sheer fabric insets, and you can see from the crayon texture where the edges of the fabric pieces are on the back of the page. Learning experience #1: Color first, glue second. (Also have a sneak peek at the sparklies on the next page!)

IMG_2312

I liked the design of the title page, with those strong horizontal lines, so I blacked out the text with ink and kept the page, sewing vertical triplets of sequins onto it and doodling some more.

IMG_2313

So sparkly.

IMG_2314

My first “found” poem, by which I mean I plucked a silly sentence out of the words available. I’m still getting the hang of my brush-tip markers, so it’s sloppy, and I’m not sure why exactly this ended up a jellyfish, but when the muse hits you…

IMG_2315

And today’s page, which is my favorite so far. First I covered the text with a thin layer of white acrylic to obscure it and brushed more randomly across the page. Then I re-lettered the words I wanted in red ink. Then came the paisley-esque designs in marker.

IMG_2316

Also, Learning Experience #2: I might want to invest in finer pens, since the type is small.

I know it’s hard to see in the photo, but the marker didn’t absorb through the paint in the same way as it did on the plain paper, so there’s a subtle shift in the reds throughout the design. I like this technique and plan to experiment further!

Of course, as fun as my art-therapy weekend was, I should be writing. Back to that.

4 thoughts on “From My Art Journal #3

Leave a Reply

