This Week, I Read… (#18)

39 - The Raven King

#39 – The Raven King, by Maggie Stiefvater

Can I give this book extra stars? Because it deserves them. Wonderful things I can say about it without spoilers:

I loved the reappearance of objects from previous parts of the story. I love how the unfolding of the plot feels both inevitable and surprising. I love how clearly the relationships between characters are depicted, especially in their individual reactions to events.

I love how little needs to be stated outright for my heart to be satisfied with the implications.

I laughed, I cried, and I look forward to starting again at the beginning of the series to absorb everything I missed the first time, now that I can appreciate where it all leads.

It was everything I wanted it to be.

40 - Eona

#40 – Eona, by Alison Goodman

Two weeks ago, I gave Eon four stars, yet its sequel only gets two. Why?

Every minor flaw I could overlook in Eon because I was so enchanted by the worldbuilding and the intriguing plot became a major flaw in Eona.

Terrible pacing, especially during the action sequences, large blocks of exposition (some of it through flashbacks, gah!) and bloated prose–I mean, does this book really need to be 637 pages? Not nearly enough plot points happen to justify the length.

Then, the plot itself was unsatisfying. I hate love triangles, but now I think I might hate “power/desire” triangles more. There was no doubt in my mind, at any point, that Eona would struggle with her choices and maybe do some questionable things along the way, but ultimately make the “right” choice. And she did, so every word spent on her pseudo-attraction to Ido was a waste. It wasn’t compelling, and it made Eona supremely unlikable, especially when she started doing all those questionable things. Seriously, she’s awful, and her “I’m doing it for the greater good” excuse is as tedious to me as the reader, as it was to all her friends who were trying to stop her from being so awful.

Oh, and to top it all off, there is literally no denouement. The book ends immediately after the climactic battle, with no hint of what becomes of anyone or what happens to the war-ravaged land. None.

I disliked this book so strongly that it retroactively makes me like the first book less.


Anybody read either of these and want to share? Or have you read something this week you want to recommend? I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

