The May Book Haul

IMG_2409

Why am I posting a book haul for May when there’s still two weeks left until June?

Because I need to stop buying books for a while.

Eleven of these came from my library’s book sale room last week ($5), and four more from the thrift store yesterday when I was there for something else and saw their book pricing had changed–everything’s usually 99 cents, regardless of style, but paperbacks were on sale 4 for $1. So I got four, of course.

I never do well with book-buying bans, but I have more unread books on hand right now than I’ve ever had before in my life. I’ll be getting a birthday discount coupon from Thriftbooks soonish (yay for rewards programs!) and I’m eyeing a few things there, but that will have to wait until June. And birthdays don’t count against book bans, right?

The full score:

  • The Waste Lands, by Stephen King
  • My Life in France, by Julia Child
  • Blood of Elves, by Andrzej Sapkowski
  • In the Time of the Butterflies, by Julia Alvarez
  • Homeland and Other Stories, by Barbara Kingsolver
  • The Blind Assassin, by Margaret Atwood
  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson
  • Saving Fish From Drowning, by Amy Tan
  • Island of Wings, by Karin Altenberg
  • Their Eyes Were Watching God, by Zora Neale Hurston
  • Sacred Hearts, by Sarah Dunant
  • Size 12 Is Not Fat, by Meg Cabot
  • Bel Canto, by Ann Patchett
  • Women of the Silk, by Gail Tsukiyama
  • The Long Earth, by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter

Seriously, I need to read down what I already have!

2 thoughts on “The May Book Haul

Leave a Reply

