#readwomen, summer edition

reading-925589_1280

Last December, the #readwomen movement spawned on Tumblr, and I decided to give it a whirl, reading only female authors for the entire month.

Since then, there’s been a book club, which I’ve managed to participate in some months, but not others, when the selections didn’t jive with my reading challenges, or I couldn’t lay hands on the books in time.

#readwomensummer, though, I can get down with that.

The full commitment is to read only female authors from the beginning of June through the end of August, but again, that doesn’t jive with my reading challenges–the books I already have assigned to tasks are split nearly equally between male and female authors, and while I could shove them aside until fall, then I’d end up with #readmenautumn, which I don’t think I’d look forward to.

So my plan is to alternate between the two when reading through my physical cache of books, and when I want to acquire something new (or borrow, as the case may be) I’ll make every effort to choose something penned by a woman.

And I’ve already started–my first book of the summer has a female author, and so did the “book about a cult” I requested from the library that I picked up earlier this week.

Even for those of us who don’t make the choice to not read male authors for three months, we’re choosing to read more by women than we might have otherwise.

Also, I’m going to another Friends of the Library book sale on Saturday (just like I did in December, remember how many books I got?) and I won’t turn away a male-written book if I see something I want (definitely looking for more Ray Bradbury and Neil Gaiman), again, I intend to prioritize acquiring more female authors, especially ones new to me.

Anyone want to join me in #readwomensummer?

2 thoughts on “#readwomen, summer edition

  1. Interesting, years ago I kind of started my own personal movement toward only reading books written by women. Not that it was a conscious choice or that I particularly disliked books written by men, but the character perspectives of books penned by women just resonated more. The same thing happened with the music.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s funny you should mention music, because I’ve actually noticed over the last few years I’ve moved away from female artists, not by conscious choice, but all the same, it happened.

      (Prepare yourself for a dissertation, because I can talk music as hard as I talk books.)

      As a kid, I was totally living in pop-princess land (Madonna, Janet Jackson, Mariah Carey), but then grunge happened and I acquired a taste for rock and alt-rock, which has female artists but is definitely male-dominated. I went through a Beauty-and-the-Beast-style metal phase (Nightwish and similar Scandinavian bands) then somehow ended up firmly in male melodic pop/contemporary (Mat Kearney, Lifehouse, Rob Thomas/Matchbox Twenty.)

      As of right now, I’ve spent the last six months listening almost exclusively to Anberlin, whom I only discovered as they were ending, only to find out last week that their lead singer has an acoustic side project, Anchor & Braille. Guess what I’ve been listening to ever since?

      (Honestly, I think we can blame my romantic attraction to musician-types for this, because I really just want to pretend sometimes they’re singing to me. I’m such a softie!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

