The TBR Tag

BnCPC July 1 - July Goals

I don’t always succumb to the “I tag YOU” on blog posts I read, but the lovely Eve Messenger tagged her readers, and I always enjoy admiring and talking about the lengthy list of things I want to read. Thanks for the tag, Eve!

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

Mostly through Goodreads (want to be my friend?) though for my reading challenge tasks, I also have a simple Notepad file with a list of the tasks I’ve already assigned to books I own, plus ideas for the other tasks. Also my TBR jar, though it’s not so full these days, since I only have twenty books left to read to finish my challenges!

Is your TBR mostly print or e-books?

Print, definitely. While I do go on binges at Amazon, swiping up free romance titles, they may sit on my Kindle for months before I get to them, so I don’t add them to my GR shelves until they actually get read. My official TBR list is maybe 20% physical books I own and haven’t gotten to yet, and 80% books I don’t own at all and want to read someday. So who knows what format they’ll be when I do?

How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

An arcane, triple-tiered system (at the moment) of 1) combining reading challenge tasks with 2) alternating male and female authors so I’m participating in #readwomensummer to the best of my abilities while still doing #1, and 3) working in books from the library and/or stuff I draw from my TBR jar.

Pictured above is my July TBR, and I’m happy to report I’ve gotten through all of it but Evelina (my current read), plus A Court of Mist and Fury from the library, which thankfully I still had a task open for, though it did displace The Princess Bride, which I’ve been meaning to read since forever.

A book that’s been on your TBR list the longest?

I added a great many on my first day on Goodreads, just over a year ago, and I started with my favorite authors; so #1 on the list is Ysabel by Guy Gavriel Kay. There are certainly books on the list I’ve been meaning to read longer, but I don’t have exact data on it, and my inner scientist rebels at approximations!

A book you recently added to your TBR pile?

 When this article goes to press (ha-ha) the most recent addition is Under the Dome by Stephen King. After reading On Writing, I intend to read more of his books–I read a lot of his early stuff in junior high/high school but haven’t read anything more recent. I chose it because I need a third dystopian book for a challenge task (!!) and I got tired of reading dystopian YA. Plus, my local library branch has it, checked in, so I can pick it up when I go in today without waiting to request it. (After waiting two months for ACOMAF, I’m not feeling patient this week.)

A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

Books do get my attention through beautiful covers, but if I read the blurb and it doesn’t sink the hook in deeper, I pass it by. One example of a blurb reeling me in, though, is These Broken Stars, and man, are the covers for the whole trilogy gorgeous.

A book on your TBR that you NEVER plan on actually reading?

Prince’s Gambit by C.S. Pacat. When I posted my extremely mixed review of the first book in the series, I stated my intention to read the rest anyway, but the more time has passed, the less likely I feel that I will. On the other hand, I did enjoy the first book a great deal, even as I realized how problematic many aspects of it were. So maybe I’ll get to it someday.

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?

I don’t anticipate book releases all that often, so I don’t have many unpublished works on the list. I think right now the only one might be A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir, and I’m looking forward to it, but not super-hyped like I was for, say, The Raven King back in April.

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

The Road. In fact, one of my beta readers was surprised I hadn’t read it, given that I’m writing a post-apocalyptic series of novels, though I have read a lot of the other classic world-enders. I have a copy, thanks to a library sale, so it’s coming up soon.

A book on your TBR that everyone has read except you? 

The Martian. I’ll get to it, I have a standing offer to borrow my mother’s copy. I just don’t know when.

A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read? 

Prince of Thorns, actually. I remember grabbing it from the library shelf at not-my-local-branch sometime last year, realizing I didn’t have my library card (oh, foolish me) and putting it back. My local branch doesn’t have a copy, and I haven’t made it a priority to request, because at this point, it won’t fit into my reading challenges. (I’m going lighter next year so I won’t be putting off books I want to read like this as often.)

The Number of Books on your Goodreads TBR shelf?

284, and it could easily be longer: I only add first-in-series books from authors I haven’t read yet, so if I end up not interested in continuing the series, I don’t have to go to the trouble of removing the rest.

Knowing I have at least 2.5 years of reading already picked out doesn’t make me any less inclined to keep piling on books, though.

And since Eve got me to do this with an every-reader tag, I’ll do the same.

I TAG YOU.

7 thoughts on “The TBR Tag

  1. Interesting answers, Elena. Ha, I’m stingy about adding books to my TBR, too, ’cause I really only want to add books I might read in this lifetime. A Stephen King book for the dystopian category in your reading challenge was such a good idea. Reading challenges definitely affect our TBR, don’t they–in a good way. I love how reading challenges mix things up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, I’ve read a lot this year I probably never would have if not for the challenges. On the other hand, I didn’t realize Under the Dome was over 1000 pages…so I didn’t bring anything else home this trip because that’s going to take me a while!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It wouldn’t be my first 1Ker, not even my first from Stephen King–I tackled the unabridged Les Miserables in eighth grade, and The Stand in early high school. But it’s been a looooong time since I finished a book that long–I tried The Count of Monte Cristo last year and didn’t get all the way through.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

