This Week, I Read… (#31)

73 - Ghost in the Wires

#73 – Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World’s Most Wanted Hacker, by Kevin Mitnick

DNF @ 12%. I couldn’t abide Mitnick’s tone of unrepentant arrogance describing his early escapades, and the style, while direct, was so full of unfamiliar, archaic jargon that I felt my eyes jumping past the endless acronyms. I’m sure there are people who love this book for revealing the “magic” behind social engineering, but I am not one of them.

74 - Evelina

#74 – Evelina, by Frances Burney

  • Read: 7/18/16 – 7/26/16
  • Provenance: Owned (paperback)
  • Challenge: PopSugar Reading Challenge 2016
  • Task: A book at least 100 years older than me
  • Rating: 2/5 stars

DNF, I left off at the end of Volume I of the letters. I was excited to read my first epistolary novel, and to try my hand at some truly historical romance, but I walked away disappointed.

I have very little experience reading 18th century fiction (or even 19th–I’ve tried Austen unsuccessfully as well) and the language/style barrier of entry was too high for me. Even with the footnotes, even knowing this is a skill I could develop if I chose–I don’t choose to, I don’t have the time or interest to invest. The story could be captivating, but I don’t want to wade through the language to get to it.

I’d be more interested in seeing how Evelina escapes the inappropriate clutches of Sir Clement and eventually falls safely into the arms of Lord Orville (because obviously, that’s what happens, even if I didn’t finish)–if I didn’t have to read endlessly about trips to the opera where everyone bitches at each other, and every third dialogue tag is “cried.” These people in polite society, are they constantly shrieking at each other?

The signal-to-noise ratio is low, and I just couldn’t handle it anymore.


So it’s a disappointing week of two DNFs, but I’m salvaging it by tackling one of the re-read tasks, so I’m ambling through an old favorite now to stave off the incipient reading slump. See you next week!

Leave a Reply

