This Week, I Read… (#39)

95-a-torch-against-the-night

#95 – A Torch Against the Night, by Sabaa Tahir

  • Read: 9/18/16 – 9/22/16
  • Provenance: Library (hardcover)
  • Rating: 4/5 stars

I actually had a little trouble getting started on this, because I read An Ember in the Ashes over a year ago, and only the once, because it too was a library book. So I remembered the big things and forgot a hell of a lot of the small details that would have made reading this a richer experience.

But then the adventure got into full swing, and I was hooked again, just like reading Ember.

I really enjoyed the addition of Helene as a POV character. Her chapters flew by, balancing her political maneuverings against the (usually) more action-oriented chapters from Elias and Laia.

Finally, I’d like to congratulate the author on her complete subversion of one of my least favorite tropes of all time, the dreaded love triangle. I was annoyed by them in the first book, but not enough to put it down; neither the one centered on Laia, nor the other centered on Elias, felt forced. It was clear both were necessary to the story, so I forgave them.

Now, I see why, because the one paid off in a way I never would have expected. Bravo!


That’s all for this week, because it was a busy one. What’s everyone reading now? Since I’m done with the challenges I’m free to read whatever I want to for a while, so I’ll take recommendations!

Leave a Reply

