Three Reading Challenges Down!

You knew it was coming: the breakdown of my final reading challenge, hosted by ReadsTheBooks!

  1. Read a book from the library: Where She Went
  2. Read a dystopian novel: The Road
  3. Read a science-fiction bestseller: Stranger in a Strange Land
  4. Read a book I saw on Tumblr: Captive Prince
  5. Read the book then watch the movie: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
  6. Read a recommendation from a librarian: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown
  7. Read a graphic novel: Preacher, Vol. 1: Gone to Texas
  8. Read a book with a yellow cover: Between You & Me: Confessions of a Comma Queen
  9. Read a book I saw on Instagram: These Broken Stars
  10. Reread a favorite book: A Wrinkle in Time
  11. Read a romance novel: The Dom Who Loved Me
  12. Read a book with a terrible cover: The Student Conductor
  13. Read a book with magicians: The Night Circus
  14. Read a book about thieves: Six of Crows
  15. Read a bestseller: The Blind Assassin
  16. Read a nonfiction book: This Is Your Brain On Music
  17. Read a book with a red cover: Grave Mercy
  18. Read a book about sisters: Royal Airs
  19. Read a memoir: Ghost in the Wires
  20. Read an ebook: Voyager
  21. Read a manga: Kare Kano, Vol. 1: His and Her Circumstances
  22. Read a book by a first-time author: The Sunlit Night
  23. Read #13 in my Goodreads TBR: Inferno
  24. Read a picture book: Goodnight Brew
  25. Read a book about a road trip: Naamah’s Blessing
  26. Read a book that was in a TV show: We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves
  27. Read a book by a PoC author: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
  28. Read an erotica: Beyond Shame
  29. Read a book about an LGBTA character: The Last Chronomancer
  30. Read a book about a cult: Troublemaker

So, this challenge did well for me for five-star reads, with 6 out of 30, but brownie points for having the super-favorites of my favorites: Six of Crows, The Blind Assassin, The Night Circus, and Aristotle and Dante. Because those were all FREAKING FANTASTIC. (I’m first in the queue for Crooked Kingdom, which is “on order” in my county’s library system. I don’t know when it’s getting in, but damn if I’m not going to drop whatever I’m in the middle of to read it when it gets here.)

This challenge also ended up including THE WORST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. I waffled about that in the review, but upon further reflection, I’m confident it takes the cake.

With all the challenge reading behind me, what do I think…?

I think I don’t want to do three challenges again! In the early stages, it was easy to find tasks that applied to books I wanted to read anyway, but later on, when I just wanted to read a squishy romance, I felt guilty about not reading for the challenge. (Yes, I admit, I did some off-the-books reading here and there. Har har. I’ll reread them all and review them too, for penance.)

Now, I know I was my own worst enemy in that–no one was forcing me to do these challenges in the first place, let alone not read non-challenge books until I was done. Which I failed at anyway! But as time went on, reading books for these challenges became more of a chore, and less of a challenge.

So my plans for next year? Take a look at the available challenges and pick one, based on whatever I think looks most interesting. And can fit the most genre-fiction choices, because these last nine months of challenge reading has taught me that I hate so-called “literary” fiction. Give me my romances and sci-fi and fantasy. And if I’m going to read non-fiction, I should probably veer towards the more historical or scientific, rather than the personal: I ended up reading a lot of memoirs, and two stand out in my memory as good, while the other handful ranged from meh to awful.

My other, secret, tentative plan is to make up my own reading challenge…but that’s still just an idea, for now. We’ll see about that closer to the end of the year!

 

Leave a Reply

