NaNoWriMo ’16 Prep #2: The Care and Feeding of Plot Bunnies

rabbit-1436329_1280

If you’re like me, you’ve always got more than one story idea rattling around your brain. Sure, you may daydream about one for a while, then it gets superseded by another, but they’re always there.

If you’re not like me, you haven’t already written down your plot bunnies. I do–whenever I get a new story idea, no matter how small or weird or improbable, I write it down.

So it’s time to build a plot bunny ranch.

Open up a blank document/project in whatever writing program you use, and write down everything. Character names and descriptions. Snippets of dialogue. Plot points. Themes. Setting descriptions. Scene ideas. Potential titles. Everything you’ve thought of.

It’s fine if you don’t have all of these, and they don’t have to be in any kind of order. I have one project where my notes are 75% short scene breakdowns, but I haven’t settled on what my characters look like, and the names have changed a few times.

If you’re not going to start something completely new for NaNo–maybe you are, but if you’re not–then you’ve got to decide which plot bunny gets raised to rabbithood next month, and if you don’t have all your thoughts down on paper first, you might have a harder time deciding.

Plus, all that prewriting will only help you, come November.

Got the first one done? Excellent. Open a new document and start the next one. Keep going until you’ve emptied your brain.

I’m still not 100% sure which little bun-bun of mine is getting written, though I’ve got one I’m leaning towards, and looking over my notes this week will probably decide me.

Leave a Reply

