The End of the Month Wrap-Up: October 2016!

fall-1710876_1280

Happy Halloween, everybody!

This month, I read a whopping 17 books! It should be noted, three of them were DNFs, but that’s still well above my average.

It’s almost as if I know I won’t have nearly as much time to read in November. Hmm, I wonder why…

Oh, that’s right. NaNoWriMo.

What else have I done this month? I’ve finished rewriting What We Need to Decide, just barely. Over the first week of November I intend to polish up a few last minute details, mostly filling in some missing chapter titles, and ship it to my betas. (After I complete my NaNo word count, of course.)

Squeezing this draft in so close to NaNo means I have done almost no true NaNo prep, though I have at least decided on which plot bunny to nurture, and spending the last week and a half rewriting anywhere from 2-5K words a day means my fingers are limber and ready to bang out some serious word vomit.

In other news, I have picked out my first official reading challenge for 2017. It was an impulse decision made two days ago, but it’s a set-your-own difficulty challenge I couldn’t resist: Beat the Backlist. It dovetails neatly with my anticipated participation (say that five times fast) in Mount TBR 2017–just that for BtB, I whipped up a specific list of 40 books I will absolutely read in 2017, whereas Mount TBR doesn’t care which ones I read, only that I read a certain amount.

I prioritized my list thusly: 1) books from unfinished series; 2) works by author-friends I own but haven’t gotten to yet; 3) series I have all of but haven’t started; and 4) a few titles I’m really looking forward to, to bring the number up to 40, which seemed nicer than 37.

(I realized after the fact that I neglected to include the rest of Preacher on the list, but all that means is that I don’t necessarily have to wait until 2017 to get to those.)

In blog business, last  year I posted my weekly NaNo Progress Reports on Fridays, which have since been taken over by my book review posts. Since the month begins on a Tuesday, moving the NaNo posts to Monday seems like the thing to do. That leaves Wednesday posts as my only free topic day, and I will do my darnedest to find things to talk about and get all of them up on time.

If any of my readers are also doing NaNo this year, I’d love to be your buddy!

Leave a Reply

