#readthemargin Wrap-Up!

readthemargin(image credit: ladybookmad)

I didn’t talk about it much–I didn’t talk about anything much, this month–but last year’s #readwomen expanded this year into #readthemargin, a challenge to read books in December written by authors from marginalized groups: women, certainly, but also PoC, non-Christian, or LGBT+ authors.

Basically, things not by straight, white, cisgender men.

I could never give them up entirely, or even for a year as some of my friends have done in the past; many of my favorite authors fall into the (temporarily) forbidden category. But for a month? I’m in.

I pulled together over 20 books from my TBR piles and a few more filched from my husband’s college books that I’d been meaning to get to. I knew I wouldn’t come anywhere close to reading all of them (and I didn’t) but I wanted to have plenty to chose from.

So here’s the list of what I did read and why, let’s see how I did!

  1. Their Eyes Were Watching God, by Zora Neale Hurston. (female, PoC)
  2. The Miseducation of Cameron Post, by Emily M. Danforth. (female, LGBT+)
  3. A Wedding in December, by Anita Shreve (female)
  4. The White Boy Shuffle, by Paul Beatty (PoC)
  5. Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood, by Marjane Satrapi (female, PoC, non-Christian)
  6. The Hundred Secret Senses, by Amy Tan (female, PoC)
  7. Boy, Snow, Bird, by Helen Oyeyemi (female, PoC)
  8. In the Time of the Butterflies, by Julia Alvarez (female, PoC)

Overall, it was a great experience–two of the books I read, I gave five stars, and a few four–and I definitely read a few things I’d been meaning to for a while, plus some more I might not have read if not for the challenge.

The books I picked out but didn’t get through are definitely on my to-read list for 2017.

I encourage everyone, challenge time or not, to diversify your reading! Stop reading the same old stories from the same old white dudes! (Or, rather, choose your white-dude authors with care, because there are still plenty of them out there worth your time. Just don’t ONLY read old white dudes, okay?)

Leave a Reply

