This Week, I Read… (2017 #12)

43 - The Waste Lands

#43 – The Waste Lands, by Stephen King

THAT CLIFFHANGER. OH GOD.

At times, I thought the pace of the story dragged, but the last 100 pages flew by in a blur of fascination, action, and dread. I was amazed. Mid-World gets more interesting every time I go back, and if I’m not mistaken, my darling old villain Randall Flagg made an appearance! (Was it the Trash-Can Man who was always saying, ‘My life for you’? I have to reread The Stand at some point.)

I would have to have read this just before #readselfpublished month, so I can’t jump right into the next book in the series. It will have to wait until May!

(…to be fair, some people had to wait six years for Wizard and Glass, so I’m not actually complaining.)

44 - The Recipe

#44 – The Recipe, by Candace Calvert

I picked this novella up during one of my sweeps of the free romance “bestsellers” last year and never quite got around to reading it. I didn’t realize at the time that it was a Christian romance, or I might not have bothered–I’ve read a few, and sometimes the preachiness puts my back up. (I’m not Christian, btw.)

But this was cute and sweet and the “Christian” aspect was mild. It was more like the characters happened to be Christian than the romance itself, and the novella length was just right for a clean romance that culminated in a first kiss instead of a romp in bed. I don’t have to have sex every romance I read to be engaged, but neither do I enjoy slow-burners that are simply too slow to ever ignite.

So, if clean/Christian romances are your thing, definitely add this one to your list. I liked it well enough to finish, but since this isn’t my genre, I probably won’t be investigating any other of the author’s works.

45 - Bryson's Dictionary of Troublesome Words

#45 – Bryson’s Dictionary of Troublesome Words: A Writer’s Guide to Getting It Right, by Bill Bryson

If anyone could make a “dictionary” amusing, it’s Bryson. The entries are filled with his wry humor and deliciously atrocious quotes from primary sources, their spelling or grammar gone horribly awry.

Was it a bit of a slog to sit down and read the whole thing straight through? Yes, but now that I have, that’s not something I need to do again. Next time I have a question about whether the proper spelling is childrens’ or children’s (it’s the latter), or how to choose whether to use amid or among, I have a resource right there on the shelf, no Internet necessary.

Leave a Reply

