Book Recommendations: A to Z

The A-to-Z meme has been going around for a while. I considered doing an A-to-Z reading challenge this year, but I have enough going on!

In the meantime, I pillaged my 4- or 5-star ratings to assemble this list. I’m missing X and Y, though I’ve moved You Know Me Well forward in my queue to (possibly) fill in that Y spot later. Anybody got any X-titled books to recommend?

I limited myself to one recommendation per author, or half of this list would be Stephen King, Neal Stephenson, and Neil Gaiman. I also wish there was more nonfiction here–I’m thinking I should try a nonfiction challenge next year? I’ve never seen one, but I’ve never looked for one…

Anyway, on with the list!

A – American Gods, by Neil Gaiman

B – The Blind Assassin, by Margaret Atwood [read my review here]

C – Contact, by Carl Sagan [read my review here]

D – The Dragonbone Chair, by Tad Williams

E – The Enchanted, by Rene Denfeld

F – The Fellowship of the Ring, by J.R.R. Tolkien

G – Geisha, by Liza Dalby

H – Heart of Gold, by Sharon Shinn

I – The Iron Duke, by Meljean Brooks [read my review here]

J – Julie of the Wolves, by Jean Craighead George

K –  Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly, by Anthony Bourdain

L –  Lab Girl, by Hope Jahren [read my review here]

M – The Mother Tongue: English and How It Got That Way, by Bill Bryson

N – The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss

O – The October Country, by Ray Bradbury [read my review here]

P – People of the Book, by Geraldine Brooks [read my review here]

Q – Queen of Camelot, by Nancy McKenzie

R – Rebecca, by Daphne du Maurier [read my review here]

S – The Secret History, by Donna Tartt [read my review here]

T –  Tigana, by Guy Gavriel Kay

U –  Under the Dome, by Stephen King [read my review here]

V – The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, by C.S. Lewis

W – A Wizard of Earthsea, by Ursula K. Le Guin

Z – Zodiac, by Neal Stephenson

Leave a Reply

