End of the Month Wrap-Up: July 2017!

I’ve developed a format for these posts: books read, words written/other writing goals accomplished, library trips, and so on.

This month that’s all out the window.

Yesterday I went running. I’ve been trying to get back into it this summer after about a year and a half away, with pretty good success.

Yesterday, just after turning around at the halfway point of my run, I wiped the fuck out.

IMG_3740

My knees got trashed and I have a wicked little blood blister on one of my palms, but my reflexes did their job and protected my head from hitting the ground. After getting up and testing my joints for obvious injuries, I gave myself about three minutes of walking time before I started running again (more slowly and watching the pavement better) until I got home.

I’ve never fallen on a run as an adult. (I’m sure I fell running around as a kid plenty, but not since I’ve taken up running proper.) It was bound to happen eventually, right? The point is, I got back up and kept going.

That’s what this past month has been for my writing–me getting up from my fall, and going on.

Originally I had hoped to publish What We Need to Rebuild in the spring. Two deaths in the family and the resulting depression I sunk into prevented that. But in July, I started writing again on a new project. I finished my final edit on the WWNtR manuscript and commissioned my cover (more on that soon!); I’m gearing up for the marketing push surrounding the release; and I’m becoming more active on social media again to interact with both bookish friends and my fans.

This is me, getting back up.

(It turns out I jammed my right big toe in the fall, so running home on that before it puffed up probably wasn’t the best idea–but the swelling will go down, the bruises will heal, and I will run again. Maybe not tomorrow as I normally would, but soon.)

Leave a Reply

